Our People

To maximise our impact we need to make sure that we are run by the very best people. Our trustee boards are comprised of local people passionate about nature and their local area but also have particular expertise that contributes to the running of local charities. Trustees are elected by Trust members at Annual General Meetings and serve in a voluntary capacity.
We heavily rely on the dedication and commitment of our 40,000+ volunteers. Without them a lot of our work wouldn’t happen and we therefore place emphasise on ensuring they are backed up by an equally dedicated staff team who can engage and lead local communities, our members, businesses, decision makers in the running of our Trusts. 

(Above) Wildlife Trusts Chairs in 2015

Our current staff to volunteer ratio is approx 1:18. A survey of TWT salaries in 2011-12 showed that over 60% of TWT staff are paid <£25,000/pa, and just over 1% are paid >£60,000, these all being CEOs.
Our structure also enables (and requires) a large number of Trust staff and trustees thinking beyond their Trust boundaries and supporting work at a national level.

Our Honorary Officers

HRH The Prince of Wales

Tony Juniper

President Emeritus Simon King OBE

President Emeritus Sir David Attenborough

President Emeritus Aubrey Manning

Chair Peta Foxall 

Vice President Professor Chris Baines

Vice Presiden t
Nick Baker

Vice President Prof David Macdonald CBE DSc FRS

Vice President
Bill Oddie OBE

Vice President Julian Pettifer OBE

Vice President Prof Sir Robert Worcester KBE DL

Chief Exec utive
Stephanie Hilborne OBE

You can find further information on our work in our Annual Review and full, detailed and transparent accounts of how RSWT money is being spent in our Annual Reports and Accounts, which are  available here .

Find out more about supporting our work here .

View Site in Mobile | Classic
Share by: